Knitting dinosaurs is my “thing”

stego

As I mentioned in the last post, I seem to find myself knitting dinosaurs quite often! To date I have made 14 dinosaurs. 5 Pterodactyls, 2 T-rexes, 2 Quetzalcoatlus’, an Ankylosaurus, a Mesosaurus, a Velociraptor, a Triceratops and a Stegosaurus.

Whilst I won’t post pictures of them all right now, if you’re on Ravelry they are all here. I will share one of the ones I really felt that I did well though:

Pterodactyl for Grace (3)

Pterodactyl for Grace (4)For Christmas last year, one of my charges, G, then aged 8, asked for a “Union Jack pterodactyl”. “…. Err…..” was my response (after correcting her use of Union Jack!), but I managed it! It was my first intarsia/colour-work project and came out quite well in the end! (Her brother was much easier and just asked for a rainbow one!). The stegosaurus was also a gift for her actually, for her birthday a couple of weeks ago. Ignore the stitching, which was done at silly-o-clock trying to rush it to get finished!

DSCN7298DSCN7292

8 thoughts on “Knitting dinosaurs is my “thing”

  1. That pterodactyl is AWESOME. It certainly doesn’t look like a first intarsia project (or maybe I’m just exceptionally terrible at colorwork). Toys have been on my “to knit” list forever, and seeing other people post theirs always makes me wonder why I haven’t done one yet.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I was very proud of it, especially as I had to sort out the pattern for the blooming Union Flag too and, being finnicky, I had to have the thicker and thinner bits in the correct place 😉

      Toys are brilliant to knit, it feels like a big project but there is a lot of satisfaction in each one. It also means that you don’t have to stick to the same colours/themes like you would for a bigger project. I’m not a very fast knitter and it takes me between 20-30 hours to do each dino. I’ve now started doing the bigger bits of the dinos in the round as I detest stitching up.

      Like

      1. I hate sewing up, too. I’m a knitter, not a seamstress! I think a toy will be my next WIP, once I finish the hat I’m designing and knitting at the same time. Mistakes were made.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

