Knitted Handcuffs

Yes. You read that right! Knitted handcuffs. WTAF?

Well a while ago I knit some handcuffs and shared a rough pattern for them. They are extremely basic, extremely cheeky and definitely a good laugh.

I then took the pattern off of my last blog with the intention of improving it very quickly and making a PDF for people instead that I would potentially charge a minimal amount for. Obviously, that never happened and I lost the pattern in the depths of my old PC somewhere. I have since managed to find them on an old external hard drive, have been intending to do that rework and it just hasn’t happened so I will post the original instructions and, this time, I won’t be taking them down to rework them and I will not be charging for it at any point in the future 🙂

What I will say though is: These are intended as novelty items. Don’t be idiots with them! They are to be made for personal use only. They are not to be made for commercial purposes (i.e. do not sell them or the pattern!)

If you share the pattern please have the courtesy to refer people back to this post. If you create a variation of the pattern, I will happily post a link to it at the bottom of this post!

Knitted Handcuffs

handcuffs

Yarn: Denim Ultra (Super Chunky, 10mm needles recommended for this yarn)

Needles: 5mm
K = Knit
P = Purl
BO = Bind off (Cast off)
CO = Cast on

Cast on 10 stitches.

Row 1) Knit 1 row

Row 2) Purl 1 row

Row 3) K2, BO2 for buttonhole, K2, BO2 for buttonhole, K2

Row 4) P2, CO2 for buttonhole, P2, CO2 for buttonhole, P2

Rows 5-28) Starting with a knit row, stocking stitch all rows.

Row 29) BO2, K2, BO2, K4

Row 30) BO2, K2 (cut the yarn and slip these two onto a small stitch holder) You should be left with two stitches on the needle. I then transferred these to 5mm double pointed to I-cord the next 20 rows, you can knit these twenty rows too, up to you!

Rows 31-50) Knit or I-cord the two stitches. Transfer to stitch holder when complete.

Repeat rows 31-50 with the two stitches on the holder.

Slip the two cords through the buttonholes on the cuffs from back to front, so the right side is outwards facing.

Cast on 2 stitches. Knit across the two stitches on the left hand cord of the existing cuff. Cast on 2 stitches then knit across the two stitches on the right hand cord of the existing cuff. Cast on 2 more stitches.

Rows 51-74) Starting with a knit row, stocking stitch all rows.

Row 75) K2, BO2 for buttonhole, K2, BO2 for buttonhole, K2

Position the cords so that they hover over the gaps for the holes. CO the hole stitches over the corresponding cord.

Row 76) P2, CO2 for buttonhole, P2, CO2 for buttonhole, P2

Row 77) Knit 1 row

Row 78) Purl 1 row

Bind off all stitches. Sew in the ends.

These have been made to the size of my wrists. I have very thin wrists. If you want more width to the cuffs (or less) add extra rows after rows 28 and 74 (or take away some rows).

You can also lengthen the cords by adding more rows after row 50.

You may want to block these once made to prevent curling. Or you could add texture, garter rows or borders which may also help 🙂

NOTE: Please feel free to create variations of this pattern, the only thing I ask is that you send me a link (either commenting here or Ravelry) if you do so for curiosities sake and please link back to this post.

Leave a Reply

