Mischief Mondays

So now that I have a bit more free time before baby is due in November, I’m trying to get organised, part of that is keeping this blog up-to-date. I thought it’d be easier to do that if I built a routine, so today I’m going to post about my rats.

A group of rats is called a mischief. It’s quite apt too! They are extremely mischievous creatures! But that is why I’ve gone for Mischief Mondays. I currently have 9 rats, 5 girls and 4 boys, we are expecting that to dwindle quickly over the next year though as 5 of them are over 2 years old now. I will start with this:

srs

This is our brand spanking new cage. We got it on Friday and it’s a massive upgrade to what we’ve had in the past. For those not in the know, this is the Savic Royal Suite (or SRS as it’s commonly called), and it is often considered the creme de la creme of rat cages in the UK. We actually bought one second hand to refurbish in the summer, but unfortunately it was beyond our capabilities and it was a very expensive mistake to have made. So, we bought a new one. It was massively pricey and our finances are not happy with us, but being massive budget geeks we managed to move money between various other, non-essential purposes, such as the very hefty chunk we managed to save on our car insurance the week before last and our holiday savings that didn’t get spent whilst we were away in July, in order to fund it. I do not regret this purchase one iota. It’s a brilliantly sturdy cage that is going to last us a considerable amount of time as long as we look after it. Currently we have the boys in the top half and the girls in the bottom. Three of our four boys are neutered, so they will be introduced to the girls once the un-neutered boy passes away and we’ll open up the whole cage for the entire group.

Being 7 months pregnant it’s also a life saver having a cage that I can actually clean out and set up without help, because having to wait until both Nick and I are home and in the mood to clean out a cage was getting old, and for the next six months Nick is frequently going to be away for short periods, so being able to manage daily spot cleans without contorting uncomfortably to reach the back corners is wonderful!

I’ve added captions to the photos of the rats for easy identification, but I won’t post about each of them today, I’ll save that for future Mischief Mondays!

4 thoughts on “Mischief Mondays

Leave a Reply

